Tommy Pope Recognized as a 2017 Business Champion by South Carolina Chamber of Commerce

Posted on

S.C. Chamber Releases 2017 Legislative Scorecard

Members of General Assembly Honored For Pro-Business Voting Records

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce today released its annual 2017 Legislative Scorecard.

In this year’s scorecard, the Chamber recognizes “Business Champions,” who earned a perfect score of 100%, and “Business Advocates,” who earned a score of at least 90%, for their support of pro-jobs, business-friendly policies that keep South Carolina’s economy growing.

Each legislative session, the Chamber tracks roll call votes on key business issues and tallies them in the Legislative Scorecard to determine an overall score for each member of the General Assembly.

This year, the Chamber’s scorecard focuses on votes including infrastructure, education, closing the state’s workforce skills gap, ex-offender workforce reintegration, agribusiness and rural job creation, protecting existing manufacturing facilities from frivolous lawsuits, and an attempt to repeal our Right to Work laws.

The following members of the General Assembly earned recognition from the Chamber:

“Business Champions” in the S.C. Senate (Score of 100% on legislative report card)
Sean Bennett
Mike Gambrell
Larry Grooms
Hugh Leatherman
Floyd Nicholson
Luke Rankin
Katrina Shealy
Ross Turner

“Business Advocates” in the S.C. Senate (90% or above on legislative report card)
Thomas Alexander
Stephen Goldfinch
Gerald Malloy
John Matthews
Margie Bright Matthews
Thomas McElveen
Ronnie Sabb
Sandy Senn
Nikki Setzler
Scott Talley
Kent Williams

“Business Champions” in the S.C. House (Score of 100% on legislative report card)
Katie Arrington
Lucas Atkinson
Nathan Ballentine
Bart Blackwell
Micah Caskey
Derham Cole
Bill Crosby
Sylleste Davis
Greg Duckworth
Raye Felder
Mike Forrester
Russell Fry
Jackie Hayes
Lee Hewitt
Chip Huggins
Jeff Johnson
Jay Jordan
Jay Lucas
Tommy Pope
Mike Ryhal
Kit Spires
Eddie Tallon
Jay West
Bill Whitmire

“Business Advocates” in the S.C. House (90% or above on legislative report card)
Jimmy Bales
Bruce Bannister
Jeff Bradley
Heather Ammons Crawford
Joe Daning
Greg Delleney
Shannon Erickson
Cal Forrest
Craig Gagnon
Phyllis Henderson
Bill Herbkersman
Phil Lowe
Rick Martin
Steve Moss
Samuel Rivers
Gary Simrill
Mike Sottile
Brian White
Robert Williams
Richie Yow

Read the 2017 Legislative Scorecard in its entirety here.

Elrod Pope Main Logo

Get in touch with us today to get started with your FREE case review. We’re only a call, click, or short drive away.